Dermot Moran is currently the inaugural holder of the Joseph Chair in Catholic Philosophy at Boston College and also Chair of the Philosophy Department. Previously, he held the Professorship of Philosophy (Metaphysics and Logic) at University College Dublin since 1989.  At its General Assembly in Athens, Greece, on 9th August 2013, Professor Dermot Moran was elected President of the International Federation of Philosophical Societies/ Fédération Internationale des Sociétés de Philosophie (FISP), for a five-year period from 2013 to 2018. As President of FISP, he also presided over the 24th World Congress of Philosophy held in Beijing, China, 13-20 August 2018. He is now Past President of FISP (2018 to 2023).

In 2003 Dermot Moran was elected Member of the Royal Irish Academy and in 2016 he was elected to the Institut International de Philosophie.

Professor Moran was awarded the Royal Irish Academy Gold Medal in the Humanities in 2012.

He was awarded the DLitt Degree on the basis of published works by the National University of Ireland in 2013.

He previously lectured in the Department of Scholastic Philosophy at Queen’s University Belfast (1979-1982) and in the Department of Philosophy at St Patrick’s College, Maynooth (1982-1989), then a Recognized College of the National University of Ireland. He has held Visiting Professorships in the USA, including at Yale University (1986-1987), Connecticut College (1992-1993), Rice University (Fall 2003 and Spring 2006), Northwestern University (2007), the Chinese University of Hong Kong (Summer 2010) and was Gadamer Visiting Professor at Boston College (Spring 2015). He also served as Walter Murdoch Adjunct Professor in the Humanities, Murdoch University, Perth, Australia (2012-2015).

Dermot Moran was Director of the International Centre of Newman Studies in UCD promoting the legacy of John Henry Cardinal Newman, first Rector of the Catholic University, Dublin, 1954-1858.

Dermot Moran was an elected member of the Executive of the Society for Phenomenology and Existential Philosophy (2013-2016).

On 26 October 2015 Professor Dermot Moran was awarded an Honorary Doctoral Degree in Philosophy by the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens “for his contribution to the promotion of Philosophy in general and with regard to his field of research in particular”.

In December 2016, he was awarded an Honorary Professorship in the Department of Philosophy, Wuhan University, Wuhan, China.

Academic Positions

  • present2018

    Professor of Philosophy

    Boston College

  • 20181989

    Full Professor of Philosophy (Metaphysics & Logic)

    School of Philosophy, University College Dublin.

  • 19961989

    Head (Chairperson) of the UCD Department of Philosophy

    University College Dublin

  • 20011999

    Head (Chairperson) of the UCD Department of Philosophy

    University College Dublin

  • 19891982


    Department of Philosophy, St. Patrick’s College, Maynooth, Co. Kildare, Ireland

  • 19821979


    Department of Scholastic Philosophy, Queen’s University of Belfast, Northern Ireland

  • Fall1976

    Visiting Lecturer

    College Seminar Program, Ezra Stiles College, Yale University, USA

  • 19781974

    Teaching Assistant/ Instructor

    Philosophy Dept., Yale University

Visiting Academic Positions

  • Spring2015

    Gadamer Visiting Professorship

    Boston College, Boston, USA

  • 20162013

    Walter Murdoch Adjunct Professor

    School of Social Sciences and Humanities, Murdoch University, Perth, Australia

  • Summer2010

    Visiting Professor

    Edwin Cheng Center for Phenomenology, Chinese University of Hong Kong

  • Winter2007

    Distinguished Visiting Professor

    Philosophy Dept., Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA

Education & Training

  • DLitt 2013

    DLitt in Philosophy

    National University of Ireland

  • Ph.D. 1986

    Ph.D. in Philosophy

    Yale University

  • M. Phil. 1976

    M. Phil. in Philosophy

    Yale University

  • M.A. 1974

    M.A. in Philosophy

    Yale University

  • B.A. 1973

    B.A. in Philosophy and English

    University College Dublin

Awards and Distinctions

  • 2019
    Tang Chun-I Visiting Professor, Philosophy Department Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • 2019
    Honorary Professor, Philosophy, Nankai University, Tienjen, People’s Republic of China
  • 2019
    Honorary Professor, Philosophy, Sun Yat-sen University, Guangzhou, People’s Republic of China
  • 2018
    President, FISP, & Ex officio Member of the Executive Committee and the Programme Committee, XXIV World Congress of Philosophy, Learning to be Human, Peking University, Beijing, China (13-20 August 2018)
  • 2017
    Elected Member of the Senate of the National University of Ireland (2017-2021)
  • 2016
    Elected Member of the Institut International de Philosophie (IIP)
  • December 2016
    Honorary Professor, WUHAN University, Wuhan, China
  • 2015
    Honorary Doctorate in Philosophy, The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
    Awarded in recognition of my contribution to the promotion of philosophy and my own research activity
  • 2013
    DLitt Degree on the basis of published work (National University of Ireland)

  • 2006
    Associate Fellow, Martel College, Rice University

  • ongoing
    Member, Board of Directors, Center for Advanced Research in Phenomenology (CARP), USA

  • 2003
    Member, Royal Irish Academy

  • 2001
    Edward Goodwin Ballard Prize in Phenomenology
    Value $1000.
  • 1973
    Magennis Prize in Philosophy, University College Dublin

  • 1970
    Gold Medal for Chemistry, Institute of Chemistry of Ireland